About Bywords

Bywords publishes on a monthly basis poems on the web, a Calendar of Literary Events, and the Bywords Quarterly Journal. Its aims are to publish emerging and established poets who reside, study or work in Ottawa. Bywords will reflect Ottawa's rich multicultural diversity.

Bywords was founded in the Fall of 1990 by a group of editors, staff, students, and alumni of the University of Ottawa. The group was brought together by Heather Ferguson of Agawa Press, Seymour Mayne of the Department of English, and Gwen Guth, a doctoral graduate in the Department.

The bywords.ca team is a dedicated group of motivated volunteers who would like to make Bywords a strong literary force in Ottawa. Our goal is to turn bywords.ca into the focal point for Ottawa poetry, literary information, and events.

The editors of Bywords welcome all submissions. No one approach or group of writers is given preference. Instead, Bywords is open to all practitioners of the genre and attempts to reflect the diversity of practice in the Ottawa area.

The Bywords Team
Steering Committee
  • Heather Ferguson
  • Gwen Guth
  • Amanda Earl
  • Charles Earl
Managing Editor
  • Amanda Earl [amanda at bywords dot ca]
  • Charles Earl
Selection Committee
  • Jesse Aubin
  • Wes Babcock
  • Robert Martin Evans
  • Margo Lapierre
  • Tanya Mead
  • Fiona Mitchell
  • Catina Noble
  • Kemisha Newman
  • Jade Riordan
  • Carol A. Stephen
  • JC Sulzenko
  • Rob Thomas
  • Ben Toner

Finally, we need dedicated volunteers to turn our vision for Bywords into reality. If you are a hard-working, poetry lover who wishes to volunteer, please e-mail volunteers@bywords.ca